Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

January 29, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Steve Scalise Majority Leader 2049 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson and Majority Leader Scalise:

As you know, our country continues to face a daily epidemic of gun violence. 2023 was an incredibly dark year for gun violence with 43,032 Americans dying from gun violence. Our communities were torn apart by 657 mass shootings and the gun violence epidemic annually costs our nation more than \$557 billion.

As members of the Gun Violence Prevention Task Force, we urge you to commit to allotting time this year to act on gun violence prevention legislation. Enclosed along with this letter is a calendar which highlights the 1-year anniversary of mass shootings from the previous year. Sadly, the calendar also notes the days marked by 4 or more mass shootings.

As members who advocate for action on gun violence prevention, we know that it is impossible to set aside a week that isn't marked by a mass shooting, or a single day that wasn't touched by preventable gun violence tragedies.

It is unfathomable that House Republican leadership has thus far refused to take any action to address the gun violence epidemic, which is the leading cause of death for children and teenagers.

While there is bipartisan agreement that mental health is a serious public safety issue in our country, the gun homicide rate in the United States is 26 times that of other wealthy nations. It is not credible to address the gun violence epidemic without working to prevent people who are a danger to themselves or others from accessing firearms.

We again ask you to work with Democrats on any policies to end the gun violence epidemic.

Sincerely,

che Shonper

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

jusie lee

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Boline Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Eleano H. noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

wellinge

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

M. d. Panio an

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

arban Lee

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

ma litos

Dina Titus Member of Congress

DINOT

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

- hra-

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

phana Haycs

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

fott felande

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

: Irola

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

uttoms. the

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

N Tokule J**H** Tokuda

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Wilson Frederica

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

July MCBatt

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

taramenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

tonlo aul

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

C. Cannol

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Wiley N

Member of Congress

Laskeda flait

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Mined

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Sume nin

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

I Nadler

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

10.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Ted W. Iren

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Palet Menuly

Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

ebbie Dingel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

MaulaScanler

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Member of Congress

foe Neguse Member of Congress

Jaceph D. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Biel Pascrill fr

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

ana Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan Member of Congress

R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

1. quis Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Velosi ancu

Nancy Pelosi Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

artel enn

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

R. Mcclue

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Recen

Becca Balint Member of Congress

unmen L. Lee

Summer Lee Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

skowitz Jared

poer of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Ølenn Ivey

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Morgan M'Carey Morgan McGarvey

Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

400

Al Green Member of Congress Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici namia

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Sherm

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Daniel Kieda

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

rank Pallon

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

1

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Snewley

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Mark Jalaan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Here GALL Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Panetta mmy

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

hKm

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Deblie Wasserm

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Mi Sevell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Comen Underma

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Judy Chu Judy Chu Member of Congress